Facebook Pixel Code

CALIPER across Canada

CALIPER locations across Canada

CALIPER began as a multi-centre initiative, coordinated by The Hospital for Sick Children (SickKids) in collaboration with six other children's hospitals located in Ottawa, Hamilton, Montreal, St. John's, Saskatoon and Vancouver. 

In collaboration with these sites, we were able to establish a current and accurate database of reference intervals (normal values) that represent Canada’s children and youth—multi-ethnic males and females from ages birth to 18 years. The database is currently being used by physicians for the interpretation of common blood tests.

Collaborating investigators from the initial six paediatric centres are listed below. Today, these sites play a key role in disseminating CALIPER data and promoting implementing of CALIPER reference intervals across Canada.

SickKids CALIPER Team (Toronto)

The Hospital for Sick Children (SickKids)
Department of Paediatric Laboratory Medicine
Division of Clinical Biochemistry
555 University Avenue
Toronto, ON, M5G 1X8

Dr. Khosrow Adeli
Principal Investigator
Phone: 416-813-8682
Email: khosrow.adeli@sickkids.ca

Hamilton

Hamilton Health Sciences
McMaster Site
1200 Main Street W
Hamilton, ON, L8N 3Z5

Dr. Vijay Gray/Dr. Joseph Macri
Co-investigators
Phone: 905-527-4322 ext. 46046
Email: macri@hhsc.ca

Montreal

CHU Sainte-Justine
3175 Chemin de la Côte-Sainte-Catherine,
Montréal, QC.
H3T 1C4

Dr. Edgard Delvin
Co-investigator
Phone: 450-681-1715
Email: delvine@sympatico.ca

Ottawa

Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario
401 Smyth Road,
Ottawa, ON, K1H 8L1

Dr. Nathalie Lepage
Co-investigator
Phone: 613-737-7600 x2439
Email: nlepage@cheo.on.ca

Saskatoon

Dr. Qing Meng
(currently at MD Anderson Cancer Center)

St. John's

Eastern Health Authority, Health Sciences Centre
300 Prince Philip Drive
St. John’s, NL,
A1B 3V6

Dr. Edward Randell
Co-investigator
Phone: 709-777-6375
Email: ed.randell@easternhealth.ca

Vancouver

BC Children’s and Women’s Health Centre
4480 Oak Street, Rm 2J10
Gordon & Leslie Diamond Health Care Centre
Vancouver, BC,
V6H 2N9

Dr. Benjamin Jung
Co-investigator
Phone: 604-875-2453
Email: bjung@cw.bc.ca

In 2015, CALIPER expanded its collaborations to include an additional team of physicians and laboratory professionals from paediatric centres across the country, including Toronto, Montreal, Ottawa, London, Winnipeg, Calgary and Halifax. These collaborations, listed below, are instrumental in increasing awareness of the CALIPER paediatric reference interval (RI) database across Canada, and in implementing CALIPER RI in clinical practice to improve paediatric health care.

Calgary

Calgary Lab Services
3535 Research Rd NW #9,
Calgary, AB,
T2L 2K8

Dr. Hossein Sadrzadeh
Co-investigator
Phone: 403-770-3759
Email: Hossein.Sadrzadeh@cls.ab.ca

Halifax

IWK Health Centre
5980 University Avenue,
Halifax, NS,
B3K 6R8

Dr. Lori Beach
Co-investigator
Phone: 902-470-3814
Email: Lori.Beach@iwk.nshealth. ca

London

London Health Sciences Centre
800 Commissioners Rd E,
London, ON,
N6A 5W9

Dr. Vipin Bhayana
Co-investigator
Phone: 519-685-8500 ex 35775
Email: Vipin.Bhayana@lhsc.on.ca

Montreal

McGill University Health Centre
1001 Boul. Décarie
Montreal, QC,
H4A 3J1

Dr. Fabienne Parente
Co-investigator
Phone: 514-934-1934 x23155
Email: fabienne.parente@mcgill.ca

CHU Sainte-Justine
3175 Chemin de la Côte-Sainte-Catherine,
Montréal, QC,
H3T 1C4

Dr. Carine Nyalendo
Co-investigator
Phone: 514-345-4931 x7988
Email: carine.nyalendo.hsj@ssss.gouv.qc.ca

Dr. Cheri Deal
Co-investigator
Phone: Co-investigator
Phone: 514-345-4931
Email: cheri.l.deal@umontreal.ca

Ottawa

Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario
401 Smyth Road,
Ottawa, ON, K1H 8L1

Dr. Matthew Henderson
Co-investigator
Phone: 613-737-7600 ext 3363
Email: MHenderson@cheo.on.ca

Québec

CHU de Québec-Université Laval
Centre hospitalier de l'Université Laval (CHUL)
2705, boulevard Laurier
Québec, QC G1V 4G2

Dr. Carine Nyalendo
Co-investigator
Phone: 514-345-4931 x7988
Email: carine.nyalendo.hsj@ssss.gouv.qc.ca

Dr. Cheri Deal
Co-investigator
Phone: Co-investigator
Phone: 514-345-4931
Email: cheri.l.deal@umontreal.ca

Toronto

The Hospital for Sick Children (SickKids)
Department of Paediatric Laboratory Medicine
Division of Clinical Biochemistry
555 University Avenue
Toronto, ON, M5G 1X8

Dr. Mark Palmert
Principal Investigator
Phone: 416-813-6217
Email: mark.palmert@sickkids.ca

Winnipeg

Children’s Hospital of Manitoba
CE501-840 Sherbrook St,
Winnipeg, MB,
R3A 1S1

Dr. Celia Rodd
Co-investigator
Phone: 204-787-1741
Email: crodd@exchange.hsc.mb.ca

Winnipeg Health Sciences Centre
MS107- 820 Sherbrook St,
Winnipeg, MB
R3A 1R9

Dr. AbdulRazaq Sokoro
Co-investigator
Phone: 204-787-157
Email: ASokoro@exchange.pmh-mb.ca