Facebook Pixel Code
image of baby
Critical Care Medicine

Staff physicians

Physician leadership  | Staff physicians

The Department of Critical Care Medicine at The Hospital for Sick Children is a multidisciplinary department with a 41-bed Intensive Care Unit (ICU).

The University of Toronto Paediatric Training Program is based within the Department of Critical Care Medicine at SickKids. The Paediatric Critical Care Program is accredited by the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada. The department is staffed by 17 full-time intensivists, and all patients are admitted under the primary care of these physicians.

In addition, there are 25 full-time fellows/residents appointed for a period of at least one year, who have completed postgraduate training in either Anesthesia, Paediatrics or Paediatric Surgery.  There are also rotating residents assigned to the unit from Paediatrics, Anesthesia, Surgery and other subspecialty services. See our Fellowship and Residents listing.



Chief - Department of Critical Care Medicine
Dr. Peter Laussen

Associate Chief & Division Head - Paediatric Intensive Care Unit  (PICU)
Dr. Peter Cox

Division Head - Cardiac Critical Care Unit (CCCU)
Dr. Steve Schwartz

Education Program Director
Dr. Tilman Humpl

Research Director - Department of Critical Care Medicine & Acute Care Research Program
Dr. Jamie Hutchison



Dr. Gail Annich
Dr. Alejandro Floh
Dr. Lennox Huang
Dr. Anne-Marie Guerguerian
Dr. Brian Kavanagh
Dr. Roxanne Kirsch
Dr. Mjaye Mazwi 
Dr. Briseida Mema
Dr. Michael-Alice Moga
Dr. Haifa Mtaweh
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  Dr. Afrothite Kotsakis
Dr. Christopher Parshuram

For further information please contact Nella Perri at nella.perri@sickkids.ca.

Back to top