Facebook Pixel Code
About Sickkids
About SickKids

Past News - 2008

SickKids scientist Dr. Teresa To receives Eminent Scientist of the Year Award
Thursday, December 18, 2008

SickKids’ health information website, AboutKidsHealth.ca becomes a national source for child health information
Tuesday, December 2, 2008

SickKids researchers discover the effectiveness of aerobic exercise in children with Fibromyalgia
Monday, December 1, 2008

SickKids led study of mutant gene in fruit flies provides insight into learning and memory deficits
Monday, December 1, 2008

Researchers discover a novel therapy for chronic pain by blocking an intracellular protein interaction in the central nervous system
Sunday, November 16, 2008

Wong receives chair in vision neuroscience
Thursday, November 6, 2008

Researchers determine that longer surgical wait times negatively affect infants with inguinal hernias
Monday, November 3, 2008

SickKids hosts joint symposium with Shanghai Institute of Biochemistry and Cell Biology
Monday, October 27, 2008

McInnes to head The American Society of Human Genetics
Thursday, October 23, 2008

Sherman appointed CIHR Scientific Director
Monday, October 20, 2008

Scientists develop cost effective strategy to address safe drinking water in Bangladesh
Tuesday, October 7, 2008

New understanding of the aging brain
Wednesday, September 10, 2008

Seeing eye to eye with…the fly? SickKids scientists confirm common ancestry of the eyes in humans and flies
Monday, September 8, 2008

Henkelman receives NCIC's cancer research award
Friday, September 5, 2008

SickKids scientists confirm Ontario’s bike helmet law saves lives
Tuesday, September 2, 2008

ERA supports SickKids safety scientist
Tuesday, September 2, 2008

SickKids scientist confirms the risks of codeine use and breastfeeding
Wednesday, August 20, 2008

SickKids receives over $91 million in CFI funding to support research infrastructure
Wednesday, August 20, 2008

SickKids scientists uncover the key to controlling how stem cells develop
Wednesday, August 6, 2008

SickKids scientists demonstrate link between DNA copy number changes and cancer risk
Monday, August 4, 2008

Next generation of scientists in training at SickKids
Wednesday, July 23, 2008

Barwick recipient of $4.4 million CIHR grant to improve the mental health of Canadians
Friday, July 18, 2008

Malkin to receive Men of Distinction award
Thursday, July 17, 2008

A spoonful of sugar makes the ‘pain go away’
Monday, June 30, 2008

SickKids Scientist Dr. Lisa Robinson nationally recognized as a mentor of tomorrow’s researchers
Tuesday, June 24, 2008

New research warrants caution when applying common therapy to children with severe, traumatic brain injury
Wednesday, June 4, 2008

SickKids names Judith John, Vice-President, Communications and Public Affairs
Wednesday, May 28, 2008

Breakthrough at SickKids: How cancer stem cells ‘hide’ in tumours
Friday, May 23, 2008

SickKids Researchers celebrated at Innovation Awards Dinner
Wednesday, May 14, 2008

SickKids researchers provide new information to improve treatment of complications of pneumonia in children
Wednesday, May 14, 2008

SickKids Chief of Research elected to the U.S. National Academy of Sciences
Wednesday, April 30, 2008

SickKids scientist receives Ontario Premier’s Summit Award
Wednesday, April 30, 2008

Scientists develops new model for determining optimal antibiotic use for treatment of community acquired pneumonia
Friday, April 11, 2008

Use of antidepressant drug paroxetine in early pregnancy does not increase risk of cardiovascular birth defects
Wednesday, April 2, 2008

Researchers determine traditional treatment for simple bone cysts to be superior to newly adopted method
Tuesday, April 1, 2008

International partnership to produce “gold standard” gene copy reference of the human genome
Thursday, March 13, 2008

Infectious disease risk increases as a result of climate change
Monday, March 10, 2008

SickKids Scientists discover potential therapeutic agent for cancer
Friday, February 22, 2008

Scientists discover a genetic combination that may worsen pulmonary disease in paediatric CF patients; Finding could pave the way for future clinical trials and genetic tests
Thursday, February 21, 2008

Cancer Research Excellence at SickKids
Tuesday, February 5, 2008

Prime Minister presents awards to nurses
Friday, February 1, 2008

Commentary on Cystic Fibrosis research finding emphasizes the need for complimentary scientific approaches to solve complex disease problems
Friday, January 25, 2008

Substance use and pregnancy: Fact or fiction?
Friday, January 18, 2008

Canadian scientists find frequent structural changes of chromosomes in autism
Thursday, January 17, 2008

Cell biologists find clues to chronic bacterial infection
Wednesday, January 16, 2008

SickKids scientists discover new method to track an important lipid in the cell
Thursday, January 10, 2008

SickKids scientists discover one of the genetic variations responsible for kidney failure in diabetics
Wednesday, January 2, 2008

Human Genetic Variation” named breakthrough of the year by the journal Science
Wednesday, January 2, 2008