Facebook Pixel Code
About Sickkids
About SickKids

Past news - 2010

He scores! SickKids wins! Prime Minister gives young patients air hockey table
Saturday, December 18, 2010

Folate deficiency virtually nonexistent among Canadians
Monday, December 13, 2010

Santa’s elves and Maple Leafs join forces for Operation HO HO HO
Friday, December 10, 2010

Centre for Commercialization of Regenerative Medicine receives $15 million from federal government
Monday, December 6, 2010

Financial barriers may be increasing the number of visits to the emergency room for kids with asthma
Thursday, December 2, 2010

NICU book of rhymes promotes family-centred care
Thursday, December 2, 2010

Mary Jo Haddad recognized as one of Canada’s Most Powerful Women
Monday, November 29, 2010

New guidelines may help health-care providers minimize immunization pain in children
Friday, November 26, 2010

Rutka new head of Department of Surgery at U of T
Wednesday, November 24, 2010

Barrera honoured with a POGO Recognition Award
Wednesday, November 24, 2010

David Foster visits SickKids
Friday, November 19, 2010

Dietary changes may prevent autoimmunity that leads to type 1 diabetes in at-risk babies: NEJM study
Thursday, November 11, 2010

SickKids Pilot Supported by AstraZeneca Award for Innovation
Thursday, November 11, 2010

SickKids named performance leader
Wednesday, November 10, 2010

SickKids Brand Campaign Emphasizes Strength in Unity
Monday, November 8, 2010

Research Institute Retreat 2010: Celebrating an exciting year in SickKids research
Thursday, November 4, 2010

SickKids recognized as a health information technology leader for clinical care system
Thursday, November 4, 2010

Daneman receives prestigious award
Monday, November 1, 2010

SickKids celebrates Patient Safety Week, November 1 to 5
Monday, November 1, 2010

Transformational Gift to SickKids Cancer Care, Research, and Education
Monday, October 25, 2010

Number of individuals with asthma in Ontario increases
Thursday, October 21, 2010

Use of an anti-vomiting drug for stomach flu patients could save millions of dollars
Thursday, October 14, 2010

Clinical research at its best: science helping patients, patients advancing science
Wednesday, October 13, 2010

Synergy between U of T and SickKids lifts both institutions in the eyes of the world
Tuesday, October 5, 2010

Toronto database for genomic medicine extends global reach
Thursday, September 30, 2010

Toronto scientists discover novel laser technique that could lead to near-scarless surgery
Wednesday, September 29, 2010

Oh Baby … Motherisk turns 25!
Tuesday, September 21, 2010

Link to autism in boys found in missing DNA
Wednesday, September 15, 2010

Cancer patients at SickKids remember Terry Fox’s inspiring story
Wednesday, September 15, 2010

Katie Armstrong – Be a role model!
Friday, September 10, 2010

SickKids scientists find new types of brain cancer
Tuesday, September 7, 2010

SickKids researchers among Early Researcher Award recipients
Thursday, August 19, 2010

Accelerating the search for new cancer therapies: SickKids scientists find new twist on drug screening to treat common childhood cancer
Wednesday, August 18, 2010

Slippery DNA holds clues to fighting diseases that progress with age: SickKids study
Sunday, August 15, 2010

SickKids celebrates UN International Year of Youth
Thursday, August 12, 2010

Web cam gives bird’s eye view of Tower construction
Wednesday, August 11, 2010

SickKids shines in CIHR competition
Wednesday, August 11, 2010

Cystic fibrosis now seen as a disease affecting many ethnicities
Wednesday, August 4, 2010

Brain work
Sunday, August 1, 2010

The Big Dig
Friday, July 30, 2010

Teens at SickKids spend “A Night in Wonderland”
Tuesday, July 13, 2010

Doctors can influence when parents wean children from bottle study finds
Monday, July 12, 2010

Impact of HPV infection of the airway measured for the first time
Wednesday, July 7, 2010

SickKids President & CEO Appointed to the Order of Canada
Wednesday, June 30, 2010

Will I have to get a needle?
Monday, June 28, 2010

Who has the ‘WOW’ Factor? SickKids’ IT team does
Friday, June 18, 2010

Rheumatology celebrates 25 years of excellence
Friday, June 18, 2010

New Chief Financial Officer joining SickKids
Friday, June 11, 2010

New genetic findings expected to accelerate autism testing and development of treatments
Wednesday, June 9, 2010

Canada's highest nursing honour for Board Trustee
Wednesday, June 9, 2010

Camp Ooch’s leader named one of Canada’s Top 40 Under 40
Tuesday, June 8, 2010

SickKids H1N1 study suggests ways to manage pain caused by vaccinations
Friday, June 4, 2010

SickKids welcomes the First Lady of Mexico
Friday, May 28, 2010

First-ever congenital heart surgery trial identifies procedure that improves babies’ survival in first year
Thursday, May 27, 2010

Caregivers can reduce pain in premature babies simply by choosing less-painful urine test
Wednesday, May 19, 2010

Science at the Summit
Wednesday, May 19, 2010

Remembering Dr. Robert Salter
Tuesday, May 11, 2010

Scherer to lead genomic medicine program
Monday, May 10, 2010

Rutka named President of the American Association of Neurological Surgeons
Monday, May 10, 2010

Sarkar Appointed Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, U.K.
Monday, May 10, 2010

SickKids invited kids of all ages to a “Science Rendezvous”
Monday, May 10, 2010

New Kid on the Block
Tuesday, May 4, 2010

Autism research at SickKids receives a boost of more than $9 million
Thursday, April 29, 2010

Abdominal obesity in some teens may be linked to mom’s smoking while pregnant
Tuesday, April 27, 2010

Zlotkin receives prestigious award
Tuesday, April 27, 2010

SickKids celebrates Earth Day
Thursday, April 22, 2010

Henkelman to receive 2010 Killam Prize in health sciences
Tuesday, April 13, 2010

SickKids study points to growing gap between paediatric and adult clinical trials
Friday, April 9, 2010

SickKids scientists use a common pet-store fish to reel in a deeper understanding of birth defects and genetic disorders
Wednesday, April 7, 2010

deVeber to receive 2010 Sidney Carter Award
Monday, April 5, 2010

Kaplan, Robinson Canada Research Chairs renewed
Monday, April 5, 2010

Researchers make a connection between CNS nerve cells and why they don’t regenerate
Monday, March 29, 2010

SickKids exhibit gives voice to youth from Toronto’s at-risk neighbourhoods
Monday, March 29, 2010

SickKids discovery changes the recommended standard of care for children with rare brain tumour
Monday, March 22, 2010

3D model of cellular “pump” may hold clues to developing new treatments for diseases
Monday, March 8, 2010

Paralympic torch comes to SickKids
Friday, March 5, 2010

Worms may hold key to better cancer treatment, SickKids study finds
Thursday, March 4, 2010

SickKids researcher awarded $3.5 M from the Ministry of Research and Innovation to study chronic pain
Thursday, March 4, 2010

SickKids receives $10 million in funding to support medical research and the development of KidsArm
Monday, March 1, 2010

International study finds novel SickKids-developed technique reduces the size of heart attacks by up to 50 per cent
Thursday, February 25, 2010

More SickKids Olympic news
Monday, February 22, 2010

SickKids scientists discover a genetic clue for Type 1 diabetes
Thursday, February 18, 2010

One in three Ontarians at risk of being diagnosed with asthma
Tuesday, February 16, 2010

Protect Your Child from Gas Fireplace Burns
Thursday, February 11, 2010

SickKids signs historic partnership to develop state-of-the-art children’s hospital in Qatar
Sunday, February 7, 2010

New SickKids program helps teens STOMP out obesity
Friday, February 5, 2010

Norman Rosenblum to receive Maureen Andrew Mentor Award
Tuesday, February 2, 2010

AboutKidsHealth receives $4.5 million from the Government of Canada
Friday, January 29, 2010

SickKids scientist takes on television of Olympic proportions
Thursday, January 28, 2010

SickKids doctors to receive Ontario’s highest honour
Thursday, January 28, 2010

Dr. Steven Schwartz appointed the inaugural holder of The Norine Rose Chair in Cardiovascular Sciences
Thursday, January 28, 2010

The Sweet Side of Pain Management
Friday, January 22, 2010

Family-centred Sears Cancer Clinic offers SickKids patients and families a new place to call their own
Thursday, January 14, 2010

Leafs make time for SickKids
Monday, January 11, 2010

SickKids researchers find powerful predictor of bone cancer prognosis
Wednesday, January 6, 2010