Facebook Pixel Code
About Sickkids
About SickKids

Past news - 2012

Research finds new therapy options for children with severe juvenile idiopathic arthritis
Thursday, December 20, 2012

'I can hear in both ears!'
Monday, December 17, 2012

Not your average Science Fair: teens build robot prototypes for brain surgery
Tuesday, December 11, 2012

Personal Genome Project Canada Launches
Monday, December 10, 2012

First in Canada: bone marrow transplant cures toddler of IBD
Monday, December 10, 2012

SickKids Foundation wins gold at CMA Awards
Tuesday, December 4, 2012

Roth a winner of Gates Foundation grant
Tuesday, December 4, 2012

SickKids, CAMH and U of T collaborate to appoint new child and youth mental health leader
Thursday, November 29, 2012

SickKids’ electronic child health network enables better care
Thursday, November 29, 2012

SickKids President & CEO announces her retirement
Wednesday, November 28, 2012

A win-win helpline: Ontario Poison Centre at SickKids enhances Manitoba services
Thursday, November 22, 2012

Outreach initiative empowers teens to spread the word about organ donation
Wednesday, November 21, 2012

SickKids wins GTA Top Employer 2013 award for the second consecutive year
Tuesday, November 20, 2012

Protein discovery in muscle could benefit conditions that cause muscle loss
Monday, November 19, 2012

Probiotics show potential to minimize C. difficile in some hospital settings
Monday, November 12, 2012

Mary Jo Haddad named influential Torontonian
Friday, November 9, 2012

SickKids Research Institute 25th annual Scientific Retreat: SickKids scientists are moving research forward
Friday, November 9, 2012

SickKids goes double platinum!
Wednesday, November 7, 2012

SickKids Café Scientifique featuring stem cell research and immortality draws over 100
Wednesday, November 7, 2012

Interventions aimed at reducing screen time in preschoolers results in fewer meals in front of the TV
Monday, November 5, 2012

Taking antidepressants during pregnancy does not harm
Monday, November 5, 2012

Award of Merit for Dr. Brian McCrindle
Monday, October 29, 2012

SickKids once again named one of Canada’s Top 40 Research Hospitals
Friday, October 26, 2012

Health Canada’s nutrition guidelines for healthy term infants
Thursday, October 25, 2012

What makes a great doctor? Traits of top clinicians
Wednesday, October 24, 2012

From farm to patients – Ontario foods celebrated at SickKids
Thursday, October 18, 2012

Research innovations take top spot in survey
Tuesday, October 16, 2012

Ten reasons to get the flu vaccine
Tuesday, October 16, 2012

SickKids wins top employer designation for second consecutive year
Wednesday, October 10, 2012

Hormone involved in normal digestion may be heart-protective in Type 2 diabetes, SickKids research shows
Monday, October 1, 2012

Sleep patterns may increase risk factors for heart disease in teens
Monday, October 1, 2012

New program manager for eLearning design at SickKids
Monday, October 1, 2012

Autism Awareness Month: SickKids develops tools for change
Monday, October 1, 2012

Dr. Freda Miller receives prestigious Howard Hughes Medical Institute Senior International Research Scholar Award
Wednesday, September 26, 2012

Surgical wait times decline as Quality Improvement Plan raises the bar
Tuesday, September 25, 2012

A special visit of Olympic proportion
Thursday, September 20, 2012

At Camp Ooch kids with cancer share triumphs
Monday, September 17, 2012

Training leads to improved child health in China
Friday, September 14, 2012

SickKids teams up with TVOParents.com to provide resources for parents
Tuesday, September 11, 2012

Diana Merino: Childhood Cancer Survivor, now a SickKids trainee
Monday, September 10, 2012

Pregnant smokers’ children may be drawn to fatty foods
Thursday, September 6, 2012

Childhood Cancer Awareness Month at SickKids
Wednesday, September 5, 2012

Berlin heart helps kids waiting for heart transplants
Tuesday, September 4, 2012

SickKids researchers find long-term outcomes for childhood complicated pneumonia are excellent
Monday, September 3, 2012

Study reveals possible method of removing leukemia stem cells, preventing relapse of Acute Myeloid Leukemia
Monday, September 3, 2012

SickKids first to grow lung cells using stem cell technology
Sunday, August 26, 2012

FDA issues warning based on SickKids study: More children’s deaths reported from codeine after tonsillectomy
Friday, August 17, 2012

Scientists uncover another clue to how memory is formed
Tuesday, August 14, 2012

SickKids researchers uncover molecular markers for rare form of brain tumour
Monday, August 13, 2012

SickKids celebrates our summer students!
Friday, August 3, 2012

International collaboration may spark major shift in treatment of some kids with brain cancer
Wednesday, July 25, 2012

As athletes prepare for the up-coming Summer Olympics, so does SickKids’ very own Dr. Greg Wells
Monday, July 23, 2012

The Hospital for Sick Children Announces New Appointments to Board of Trustees
Thursday, July 19, 2012

Break out a tune and show some support for 2015 Pan Am Games
Friday, July 13, 2012

Une soirée à Paris! SickKids teens spend an unforgettable evening in Paris
Friday, July 13, 2012

Horses and acrobats bring arts and fantasy to patients at SickKids
Thursday, July 12, 2012

Common diabetes drug promotes development of brain stem cells
Thursday, July 5, 2012

Conference activity at Garron Centre
Thursday, July 5, 2012

Dell named as first-ever paediatrician to become director of the largest Clinical Epidemiology and Health Care Research Program
Wednesday, July 4, 2012

SickKids researchers weigh in on Humpty Dumpty’s traumatic fall
Friday, June 29, 2012

Winners announced for first-ever SickKids Clinical Research Awards
Thursday, June 21, 2012

President’s Award and President’s Circle winners named
Thursday, June 21, 2012

AboutKidsHealth.ca supports new and expecting moms and dads in Nunavut
Wednesday, June 20, 2012

New SickKids Centre for Genetic Medicine targets the advancement of individualized medicine
Tuesday, June 19, 2012

SickKids working on world’s first comprehensive diagnosis, therapeutic and reporting software tool for treatment of childhood ADD/ADHD
Thursday, June 14, 2012

Researchers identify altruistic stem cells
Wednesday, June 13, 2012

New mobile app helps give neonatologists the full picture
Monday, June 11, 2012

SickKids COWS eat paper
Wednesday, June 6, 2012

SickKids partners in new institute for child and youth success
Tuesday, June 5, 2012

Statement from family of 13-year-old victim in Eaton Centre shooting
Monday, June 4, 2012

StaR Child Health launches first international standards for clinical trials in children
Friday, June 1, 2012

Hey kids, get outside! Safety concerns are making outdoor play a thing of the past.
Tuesday, May 29, 2012

SickKids researcher appointed Officer of the Order of Canada
Friday, May 25, 2012

MyEducation Passport helps students self-advocate
Tuesday, May 15, 2012

SickKids’ MedTech Challenge inspires students to pursue careers in biomedicine
Tuesday, May 15, 2012

New outreach program encourages high school students to become ambassadors for organ donation
Monday, May 14, 2012

SickKids Bravery Beads Program celebrates 10-year milestone
Monday, May 14, 2012

Freedman receives Grand Challenges grant
Friday, May 11, 2012

The evolution of nursing
Thursday, May 10, 2012

SickKids is a leader in paediatric nursing at national conference
Wednesday, May 9, 2012

MaRS Innovation paves the way for innovative drug development partnership in China
Tuesday, May 8, 2012

New iPhone app helps kids with cancer fight pain
Monday, May 7, 2012

SickKids program helps children with reading disabilities
Friday, May 4, 2012

Borschel and Tabori honoured with Ontario Early Researcher Awards
Monday, April 30, 2012

TDSB and SickKids Team Up To Support Child and Youth Mental Health
Friday, April 27, 2012

Dr. Darius Bägli’s mentoring earns him recognition from his peers and an award from the AUA Foundation
Thursday, April 26, 2012

Gender bias in autism
Thursday, April 12, 2012

An investment in the future of paediatric cancer research at SickKids
Wednesday, April 11, 2012

SickKids-led study identifies multiple genes linked to differences in cystic fibrosis
Sunday, April 1, 2012

SickKids “Family” Comes Together to Build Tower
Friday, March 30, 2012

Study suggests new way to treat chronic pain
Sunday, March 25, 2012

A Fine Day for Discovery
Friday, March 23, 2012

Dr. John Brumell: A rising star in the field of Cell Biology
Thursday, March 22, 2012

Child Life brought the vacation to SickKids during this March Break!
Wednesday, March 14, 2012

Filling the gaps: New diagnostic tool reflects today’s diverse Canadian paediatric population
Monday, March 12, 2012

Peter Gilgan, Founder, Mattamy Homes helps build future home of SickKids researchers with historic $40 million gift
Wednesday, March 7, 2012

Researchers suggest WHO re-evaluate drinking water guideline for manganese
Wednesday, February 29, 2012

Rethinking paediatric brain cancer
Wednesday, February 15, 2012

What does Valentine's Day mean to our patients?
Tuesday, February 14, 2012

SickKids Scientist, Dr. Jennifer Stinson Honoured by the Canadian Pain Society
Wednesday, February 8, 2012

Researchers say patients leave ER with poor understanding of how to care for themselves
Tuesday, January 24, 2012

Top 11 of 11
Friday, January 20, 2012

Bouffet, Egeler named inaugural holders of Garron Family Chairs in Childhood Cancer Research
Thursday, January 19, 2012

Maureen Dennis – “the leading child neuropsychologist in North America” – receives lifetime achievement award
Monday, January 16, 2012

SickKids scientists develop cutting-edge 3D structural model detailing cell’s molecular motors
Thursday, January 12, 2012

SickKids Raises $133,859 for United Way
Monday, January 9, 2012

Imaging success
Wednesday, January 4, 2012