Facebook Pixel Code
Courtesy of Susy Bleasby Art  |  susybee.com  |  @susysbee_art
Division of Orthopaedics

Our history

Orthopaedic Surgery was established as a separate division at The Hospital for Sick Children (SickKids) in 1957.  Since then, the Division has ranked as one of the top centres for the treatment of children with musculoskeletal problems.

The Division has been blessed to have had some of the most talented and influential orthopaedic surgeons anywhere.  Their pioneering work laid down many of the conceptual and technical foundations for the field of children’s orthopaedics.  This has resulted in receiving numerous honours and accolades.  SickKids is the only institution to receive four Arthur H. Heune Memorial Award, the highest award given in paediatric orthopaedics which recognizes excellence and promise in the field.  Recipients from SickKids include Robert B. Salter, William Cole, James G. Wright, and Benjamin Alman.

The fellowship training program developed by these pioneers became famous and highly influential.  For five decades, many of the top paediatric orthopaedic surgeons around the world have been able to trace their training back to The Hospital for Sick Children.

Research by members of the Division of Orthopaedics improved patient care well ahead of its time.  New operations were devised and new ways of optimizing bone and joint health pioneered at SickKids were adopted worldwide. 

Thanks to these strong foundations, our vision and ability to improve how children with orthopaedic problems are treated has only grown stronger since 1957.  New operations continue to be devised today, fellowship training has been expanded and reaches out to more places around the globe, and research advances of the Division have never been greater in scope nor impact.