Facebook Pixel Code
Courtesy of Susy Bleasby Art  |  susybee.com  |  @susysbee_art
Division of Orthopaedics

Residency program

The University of Toronto, Division of Orthopaedic Surgery Residency Program presently consists of seven orthopaedic hospital divisions in the city of Toronto:

  • The Hospital for Sick Children
  • St. Michael's Hospital
  • Sunnybrook & Women's College Health Sciences Centre
  • Sunnybrook & Women's College Health Sciences Centre - Orthopaedic & Arthritic Site
  • Toronto East General Hospital
  • University Health Network - Toronto Western Hospital
  • Mount Sinai Hospital

The orthopaedic residency program is a six year program. The first two years of training are considered "core surgery". The first year will include rotations in emergency medicine, general medicine, intensive care unit, general surgery and orthopaedics. The second year will include trauma surgery, paediatric orthopaedics, neurosurgery, plastic surgery and vascular surgery.

In the remaining three clinical years, the resident will complete his/her senior orthopaedic training. A minimum of six months of that time will be spent at SickKids; 12 months will be spent on adult trauma/reconstructive rotations at Sunnybrook and St. Michael's Hospital. The remaining rotations will be determined by the resident and the Director of Postgraduate Training. One year of research will be included during the senior year.

All residents will be expected to complete the core curriculum throughout their five clinical years: 12 months of trauma; nine months of paediatric orthopaedics; six months of spinal orthopaedics; six months of arthroplasty; three months of sports; and three months oncology.

For more information on the program, please follow the link below: 
Department of Surgery - Orthopaedics - Education website