Facebook Pixel Code
Arthur & Sonia Labatt Brain Tumour Research Centre

BTRC News 2008

Sept 2008

Dr. Jane McGlade was named Associate Chief of Research, Faculty Development at The Hospital for Sick Children.

June 2008

Dr. Gelareh Zadeh

New Scientist - Dr. Gelareh Zadeh, MD, PhD

Dr. Gelareh Zadeh completed her training in neurosurgery at the University of Toronto. She also obtained a PhD from the University of Toronto in the molecular biology of brain tumour angiogenesis in 2006. Dr. Zadeh worked at the Brain Tumour Research Centre during her PhD and is glad to be returning to the centre. Following her graduation from the University of Toronto, Dr. Zadeh spent two-years as lead neurosurgeon for Neuro-Oncology at the National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery (Queen’s Square) in London, UK. During this time, she successfully secured substantial funds and grants to support her brain tumour research as well as her clinical practice in neuro-oncology.

Dr. Zadeh has returned to the Toronto and the academic environment that she finds to be very supportive and unmatched internationally. She will be a member of the Division of Neurosurgery and joins Drs. Mark Bernstein, Ab Guha, and Fred Gentili in the Neuro-Oncology program. Clinically, she will be focusing her research in the area of skull base surgery and neuro-endocsopy. Dr. Zadeh is hoping to advance her research in Neuro-Oncology by studying the radiobiology of brain tumours at The Arthur and Sonia Labatt Brain Tumour Research Centre.

May 2008

The National Cancer Institute of Canada is pleased to announce the results of the most recent research grant competition

James Rutka
CCS Research Grant, The role of aberrant HGF/cMET signaling in medulloblastoma
Granting period: three years

Uri Tabori
CCS Research Grant, Prognostic and therapeutic implications for telomere maintenance and telomerase inhibition in pediatric high grade gliomas
Granting period: three years

February 2008

Cancer Research Excellence at SickKids With a capacity crowd gathered in the SickKids Main Auditorium, the National Cancer Institute of Canada (NCIC) honoured SickKids researchers Peter Dirks and Mark Greenberg for excellence in cancer research. read more

January 2008

a picture of Donald Mabbott

Donald Mabbott joins the BTRC as an Affiliate Scientist.

Mabbott has a PhD in Developmental Psychology from the University of Alberta and completed a post-doctoral fellowship in Paediatric Neuropsychology at The Hospital for Sick Children. His research interests include the study of neurocognitive late effects of paediatric brain tumours and the use of quantitative MRI to examine white matter integrity in the developing brain. scientific profile »»

Recent findings from his lab have delineated the nature and trajectory of neurocognitive deficits following diagnosis and treatment for paediatric brain tumors, the relations between quantitative MRI indices of white matter damage following treatment with radiation for brain tumours and intellectual outcome, and the important role of white matter growth in normal cognitive development. In more recent collaborations Mabbott is using combined tractography and MEG methodologies to identify functional white matter pathways important for cognition.

Understanding the connections between cranial radiation, white matter injury and neurocognitive outcome and the critical period during which these changes occur is essential for developing and evaluating the efficacy of interventions for sparing normal tissue and cognitive function. Mabbott’s is significant as it may provide information concerning the emergence of injury in brain regions particularly sensitive to cranial radiation and may influence dose distribution planning to spare these areas.

Knowledge of the temporal relations between white matter and neurocognitive outcome is needed in order to improve early detection of children at greatest risk, and to design targeted rehabilitation programs to help these children compensate for neurocognitive impairment.

Three Scientists of the BTRC were successful in the 2008 CIHR Grant Period.

Peter Dirks
Grant name: Asymmetrical self renewal in normal and cancer stem cells of the human brain
Granting period: five years

Jane McGlade
Grant name: Role of the SLAP adaptor proteins in ubiquitin dependent regulation of receptor tyrosine kinases
Granting period: five years

Uri Tabori
Grant name: Prognostic and therapeutic implications for telomere maintenance and telomerase inhibition in pediatric high grade gliomas
Granting period: three years