Facebook Pixel Code
Arthur & Sonia Labatt Brain Tumour Research Centre

Structure and organization

The BTRC is comprised of a research and training program under the directorship of Dr. James T. Rutka, MD, PhD. One of the BTRC's strongest features is its networking with local, national and international experts engaged in all phases of cancer research.

The Director of the BTRC is accountable to the Advisory Board (listed below), and annually reports to the Board on: i) the ratio of grant capture funds to invested funds, ii) the number and quality of publications (including citation indices) that have resulted from funding for the BTRC, and iii) immediate and long-term recruitment plans. This process ensures that the benefactors, donors, hospitals and the University are apprised of the significant progress which will be made, and that appropriate international, University and Hospital codes of conduct are rigorously adhered to.

Advisory Board

Sonia and Arthur Labatt

Jim Wright
Surgeon-in-Chief, The Hospital for Sick Children

Michael Salter
Chief, Research Institute, The Hospital for Sick Children

Ted Garrard
President, The Hospital for Sick Children Foundation

Michael Apkon
CEO, The Hospital for Sick Children

Charlie Chan
Interim CEO, University Health Network Foundation

Christopher Paige
Director Research, OCI/PMH

Trevor Yoong
Dean, Faculty of Medicine, The University of Toronto

Helen Berman

David Berman
Scientific Advisor


The $15 million dollar endowment generously provided by Sonia and Arthur Labatt will be used to recruit scientists, post-doctoral fellows, graduate students and clinician-investigators to the BTRC. Funding will also be provided to support ongoing projects in experimental neuro-oncology and to initiate new projects, the data from which will serve as a platform from which new grants can be secured from internal and major external grants competitions.