Facebook Pixel Code
News and Events

Research News

New CMAJ supplement on patient engagement includes SickKids collaborations
Monday, November 12, 2018

SickKids-led research team finds a potential therapeutic target for life-threatening heart condition
Monday, November 12, 2018

SickKids named one of Canada's Top 100 Employers for 2019
Friday, November 9, 2018

SickKids maintains high ranks on Canada’s Top 40 Research Hospitals 2018 list
Thursday, November 8, 2018

Molecular site identified for targeted intervention of Fragile X syndrome
Wednesday, November 7, 2018

Science Q&A: How SickKids scientists are working to understand a potentially lethal brain disease
Monday, November 5, 2018

SickKids scientist Dr. Eric Bouffet addresses UN about childhood cancer on behalf of International Society of Paediatric Oncology
Thursday, October 25, 2018

May the force not be with you: SickKids scientists find brain tumour cells hijack force-activated ion channels to promote tumour stiffening and growth
Thursday, October 18, 2018

Emergency department as first contact for mental health services more common for immigrant and refugee youth compared to those born in Canada
Tuesday, October 9, 2018

Dr. James Drake appointed Surgeon-in-Chief and Chief of Perioperative Services
Friday, September 28, 2018

Pioneering genome sequencing study links rare genetic changes to congenital cardiac condition
Thursday, September 20, 2018

SickKids team launches expanded and updated CALIPER app and website
Thursday, September 20, 2018

Celebrating a legacy of science, discovery, innovation and learning, the Peter Gilgan Centre for Research and Learning marks five years
Monday, September 17, 2018

Children's bone cancers could remain hidden for years before diagnosis
Thursday, August 30, 2018

First Canadian paediatric study of mixed THC/CBD cannabis oil shows promise for children with drug-resistant epilepsy
Wednesday, August 1, 2018

Teen patients got dressed to the nine(tie)s for a prom-inspired after hours event
Monday, July 23, 2018

Celebrating our progress improving patient and staff safety: See the Caring Safely report
Thursday, July 19, 2018

Our earliest memories may be forgotten but not lost
Thursday, July 5, 2018

Brain scans of preterm babies could improve feeding strategies to boost brain development
Friday, June 29, 2018

Congratulations to our staff who have won awards!
Thursday, June 28, 2018

Data reveals the risks of ATV use for children and youth
Tuesday, June 26, 2018

We’re building a new website – and we need your help!
Tuesday, June 19, 2018

Finding the sweet spot for teens with diabetes: improving diabetes control and preventing complications
Wednesday, June 13, 2018

Malaria: Cooperating antibodies enhance immune response
Tuesday, June 12, 2018

SickKids’ TRMC takes the lead in developing global post-transplant live vaccine consensus protocol
Wednesday, June 6, 2018

A new diagnostic tool for paediatric stroke patients will improve diagnosis and treatment course
Friday, May 25, 2018

New research identifies red flags for frontline providers when treating infants with bronchiolitis
Monday, May 7, 2018

Early-life risk factors for childhood obesity associated with zBMI growth rates
Monday, May 7, 2018

The real value for money of universal screening for Autism Spectrum Disorder
Wednesday, April 25, 2018

SickKids is launching a new integrated electronic health information system on June 2
Wednesday, April 11, 2018

Sinai Health System and The Hospital for Sick Children welcome investment in an Ontario Fetal Centre
Wednesday, March 28, 2018

SickKids contributes to best practice guidelines on caring for children with congenital diaphragmatic hernia
Monday, March 26, 2018

The Government of Ontario invests $2.4 billion to build the SickKids of the future
Friday, March 23, 2018

SickKids named one of Canada’s Top Family-Friendly Employers for 2018
Wednesday, March 21, 2018

Food insecurity associated with unhealthy eating habits in preschoolers
Thursday, March 15, 2018

High incidence of kidney injury in kids who receive other solid organ transplants, in world-first SickKids study
Thursday, March 1, 2018

Canada seeing the largest improvements in sickest patients with cystic fibrosis compared to U.S. and Europe
Tuesday, February 27, 2018

SickKids researchers bust commonly held myth about medulloblastoma
Friday, February 23, 2018

Childhood cancer survivors at higher risk of mental health events
Thursday, February 22, 2018

Call for researchers across Canada to sequence the genomes of 150 genetically unexplored species
Wednesday, February 14, 2018

SickKids-led study shows success with a blenderized diet for children with G-tubes
Tuesday, February 13, 2018

Personal Genome Project shows whole genome sequencing could transform how Canadians manage their own health care
Saturday, February 3, 2018

Dr. Upton Allen appointed to Order of Ontario
Thursday, February 1, 2018

SickKids researchers lead first study on maternal, newborn and child health in the Islamic World
Wednesday, January 31, 2018

Research co-led by SickKids shows premature babies may be more susceptible to effects of pain from lifesaving care, harming brain development
Tuesday, January 30, 2018

Dr. Victor Blanchette appointed to the Order of Barbados for contributions to paediatric medicine and global child health
Monday, January 29, 2018

SickKids researchers to benefit from major investment in genomics and precision health research
Thursday, January 25, 2018

Care mapping: Study shows putting experience on paper helps parents of children with medical complexity
Tuesday, January 16, 2018

SickKids researchers receive over $12 million for research infrastructure projects through Ontario Research Fund
Monday, January 8, 2018

Congratulations to our staff who have won awards!
Friday, December 29, 2017

It’s our top stories of 2017, eh?
Thursday, December 28, 2017

New study shows cheaper, less invasive treatment can improve brain growth, function in babies with hydrocephalus
Friday, December 22, 2017

“Divergent ancestry” in infants’ DNA associated with increased risk of preterm birth
Thursday, December 14, 2017

SickKids researchers discover precise molecular mechanisms that can influence memory
Tuesday, December 12, 2017

Congratulations to the winners of the 2017 President’s Award
Friday, December 8, 2017

The Centre for Genetic Medicine: helping patients and families solve genetic mysteries
Thursday, December 7, 2017

Insufficient evidence to guide recommendations on vitamin D in pregnancy
Thursday, November 30, 2017

Baby Carter recovers hearing after cochlear implant surgery at only 3 months of age
Tuesday, November 28, 2017

Terry Fox Research Institute and cross-Canada partners give $16.4 million boost to young people fighting hard-to-treat cancers
Friday, November 24, 2017

Inhaled corticosteroids do not increase risk of fracture in children with asthma: study
Monday, November 13, 2017

SickKids named one of Canada's Top 100 Employers for 2018!
Thursday, November 9, 2017

SickKids ranks No. 2 on Canada’s Top 40 Research Hospitals list for 2017
Thursday, November 9, 2017

SickKids scientist Dr. Norman Rosenblum named Scientific Director of the CIHR Institute of Nutrition, Metabolism and Diabetes
Wednesday, November 8, 2017

Safety coaches are helping us to care safely everywhere, every day
Wednesday, November 1, 2017

Visualizing the invisible: SickKids scientists determine structure of cellular powerhouse for the first time
Thursday, October 26, 2017

SickKids awarded Exemplary Standing from Accreditation Canada
Tuesday, October 24, 2017

SickKids scientists create new way to classify cancers based on unique hypermutant footprint
Thursday, October 19, 2017

Children’s temperaments linked to time spent outdoors
Wednesday, October 18, 2017

Could on-and-off fasting help prevent obesity?
Tuesday, October 17, 2017

SickKids researchers receive more than $19 million in CFI funding for research infrastructure
Friday, October 13, 2017

Tenfold increase worldwide in childhood and adolescent obesity in four decades: new study
Thursday, October 12, 2017

SickKids team receives $2.99 million USD from SU2C Catalyst program to develop combination therapy for most aggressive cancer predisposition syndrome
Thursday, October 12, 2017

SickKids scientists obtain blueprint of molecular target for blood cancer and autoimmune therapies
Monday, October 2, 2017

Refugee children and youth at higher risk of unintentional injury compared with non-refugee immigrants
Friday, September 29, 2017

Neuroscientists link memory fundamentals with Alzheimer’s disease in promising study
Thursday, September 21, 2017

Changing the face of cancer care at home and around the world
Friday, September 8, 2017

Treating the gaps in childhood cancer care
Thursday, September 7, 2017

Tracing single brain cancer cells simplifies complexity of incurable brain cancers, suggesting new treatments, international study finds
Wednesday, August 30, 2017

Canadian study identifies genetic link to cause of cerebral palsy
Thursday, August 3, 2017

Race against the clock: Lifesaving in-utero heart procedure spares Baby Sebastian a traumatic birth and bridges the gap to corrective surgery
Wednesday, July 26, 2017

Learn about paediatric pain with Online Paediatric Pain Curriculum
Friday, July 21, 2017

What can worms teach us about how our body heals itself?
Thursday, July 20, 2017

Muscle function regained in CRISPR-treated mice with congenital muscular dystrophy, SickKids study finds
Monday, July 17, 2017

New study finds compound that may improve response to existing CF drug in kids with rare CF mutations
Friday, July 14, 2017

Prom-inspired event for SickKids teens was the bee’s knees
Tuesday, July 11, 2017

Less is more: new review suggests paediatricians should think twice before routinely testing for respiratory viruses
Monday, July 3, 2017

SickKids staff recognized for their achievements
Friday, June 30, 2017

SickKids scientists identify new molecular mechanism that may be responsible for initiating organ rejection
Friday, June 23, 2017

It turns out forgetting is really important for memory
Wednesday, June 21, 2017

Biofilms—the eradication has begun
Wednesday, June 21, 2017

More children with common fractures being treated at SickKids, study finds
Friday, June 16, 2017

The dirty dozen: 12 new subtypes of medulloblastoma discovered
Monday, June 12, 2017

Three leading paediatric health-care centres launch Kids Health Alliance
Tuesday, June 6, 2017

SickKids shows its Pride
Thursday, June 1, 2017

SickKids Research Institute welcomes more than 1,300 people for Doors Open Toronto
Monday, May 29, 2017

SickKids study shows how genome sequencing may help prevent adverse drug events
Friday, May 26, 2017

SickKids researchers awarded $4.8 million for brain cancer research
Friday, May 26, 2017

More than half of children and youth in ER for mental health needs have not had any previous mental health-related contact with the health-care system
Thursday, May 25, 2017

Join the SickKids Research Institute for Doors Open Toronto!
Friday, May 19, 2017

New Hincks-Dellcrest Centre name signals shared vision with SickKids
Thursday, May 18, 2017

#YESThisIsNursing: Celebrating Nursing Week!
Monday, May 8, 2017

SickKids researchers identify epigenetic signatures that may help with diagnosing and distinguishing two rare diseases
Friday, May 5, 2017

Researchers identify a new factor essential for the healthy development of a child’s brain
Wednesday, May 3, 2017

SickKids research team identifies a new disease and solves a medical mystery
Monday, April 3, 2017

Lewis E. Kay named Canada Gairdner International Award Laureate
Tuesday, March 28, 2017

A child or youth is injured by a firearm every day in Ontario: study
Monday, March 27, 2017

Congratulations to our staff on their recent awards and accomplishments
Wednesday, March 22, 2017

Malaria drug may help kids with rare genetic disorder, SickKids study finds
Wednesday, March 22, 2017

New Canadian study suggests physical activity may help protect children from the onset of depression
Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Study finds under-connected “social brain” in adults with autism
Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Could a recall actually protect kids from swallowing dangerous magnets?
Friday, March 10, 2017

Teens ‘take charge’ with new online program for kids and teens with arthritis
Monday, March 6, 2017

Scientists identify parent-of-origin phenomenon in devastating form of muscular dystrophy
Thursday, March 2, 2017

Just in time for Rare Disease Day: New SickKids/UHN clinic for EDS patients officially opens
Tuesday, February 28, 2017

Personalizing approaches to treating childhood arthritis
Wednesday, February 22, 2017

Young children of mothers prescribed opioids at increased risk of overdose
Tuesday, February 21, 2017

Science Show & Tell: How parents’ health literacy affects health outcomes for children with chronic kidney disease
Friday, February 17, 2017

Use of electronic medical records may result in better tracking of childhood obesity rates, new study finds
Thursday, February 16, 2017

Statement regarding international patients and U.S. travel restrictions
Friday, February 3, 2017

Empowering providers and patients through a “one patient, one record, one connected system” approach
Thursday, February 2, 2017

Building bridges to mental health services for children and youth
Wednesday, February 1, 2017

Novel research finds genetic explanation for bone damage among survivors of childhood cancer
Friday, January 20, 2017

Brain scan of premature infants could predict disability and improve outcomes, study finds
Thursday, January 19, 2017

Science Show & Tell: Happy 150th, Canada!
Friday, January 13, 2017

SickKids-supported research facilities receive $116 million to fund genomics and advanced computing research in Canada
Monday, January 9, 2017

SickKids’ Dr. Lewis Kay appointed to Order of Canada
Wednesday, January 4, 2017