Facebook Pixel Code
Rubinstein Lab
Rubinstein Lab

Lab members

Samir Benlekbir

Research Group Members (in alphabetical order)

Samir Benlekbir - Microscopy Specialist
B.Sc. (Jean Monnet University, 2003), M.Sc. (Jean Monnet University, 2005), PhD (INSA de Lyon, 2009)
email: sb@sickkids.ca

Samir joined the group in June 2009. He holds a B.Sc. in Applied Physics, an M.Sc. in Optics, Imaging and Vision, and a PhD in Materials Science.

Stephanie Bueler

Stephanie Bueler - Research Project Coordinator
B.Sc. (McGill, 2002), M.Sc. (McGill, 2006)
email: stephanie.bueler@sickkids.ca

Stephanie joined the research group in January 2006 after completing her M.Sc. in biochemistry. Stephanie runs the group’s biochemistry laboratory.

Christine Gambin

Christine Gambin – Senior Secretary 
B.A (York University, 1998)
email: christine.gambin@sickkids.ca

Christine joined the group in March 2010 and assists with all of our administrative tasks. She also provides administrative service to two other groups. 

Hui Guo

Hui Guo - Graduate Student 
B.Sc. (Toronto, 2015)
email: maomao.guo@mail.utoronto.ca

Hui was a summer student in the laboratory in 2014. He did a rotation in the laboratory in the fall of 2015 and joined the laboratory as a graduate student in January 2016. He has a B.Sc. in Biophysics

Photo of Lab Member

Mohammad Mazhab Jafari - Post-doctoral Fellow 
B.Sc. (McMaster 2006) M.Sc (McMaster 2008), PhD, (Toronto 2014)
email: mazhabmt@gmail.com

Mohammad did his B.Sc. and M.Sc. in Biochemistry and Biomedical Sciences with Giuseppe Melacini. He did his PhD in Medical Biophysics with Mitsu Ikura. He obtained expertise in GTPases, NMR spectroscopy, and X-ray crystallography before joining the group in September 2014. 

Photo of Lab Member

Zev Ripstein - Graduate Student
B.Sc. (Manitoba, 2014)
email: zevripstein@gmail.com

Zev joined the laboratory in January 2015. He did a double major in Biochemistry and Physics for his B.Sc.

John Rubinstein

John Rubinstein - Scientist
B.Sc. (Guelph, 1998), PhD (Cambridge/MRC, 2002)
Canada Research Chair in Electron Cryomicroscopy
email: john.rubinstein@utoronto.ca

John joined the Molecular Structure & Function program at SickKids in 2006. He is a Professor in the Departments of Biochemistry and Medical Biophysics at U of T and holds the Canada Research Chair in Electron Cryomicroscopy. 

Thamiya Vasanthakumar

Thamiya Vasanthakumar - Graduate Student
B.Sc. (Western, 2015)
email: thamiya.vasanthakumar@mail.utoronto.ca

Thamiya joined the laboratory in September of 2015. She has a B.Sc. in Biochemistry.


Summer students

  • 2006 - Lindsay Baker, Biophysics program, University of Guelph.
  • 2007 - Nawaz Pirani, Biochemistry program, McMaster University
  • 2008 - Jason Rajchgot, Medical Physics program, University of Western Ontario
  • 2009 - Eric Smith, Biophysics program, University of Toronto
  • 2009 - Jianhua Zhao, Biophysics program, University of Toronto
  • 2011 - Colin Cook, Engineering Science program, University of Toronto
  • 2012 - Rikki Landau, Biophysics program, York University
  • 2013 - Chelsea Marr, Nanotechnology Engineering program, University of Waterloo
  • 2014 - Hui Guo, Biophysics program, University of Toronto

The laboratory takes part in the SickKids Summer Research program.


Dr. Lindsay Baker
PhD Candidate (January 2007 to April 2012). NSERC Canada Graduate Scholarship, Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarship. Currently: post-doctoral fellow at Oxford University.

Shawn Keating
M.Sc. Candidate (October 2010 to December 2012). NSERC Canada Graduate Scholarship, Ontario Graduate Scholarship, Medical Biophysics Excellence Award, Restracomp studentship (The Hospital for Sick Children).

Dr. Jason Koo
Post-doctoral Fellow (December 2012 to December 2015, jointly with Dr. Lynne Howell's lab). Currently: Therapure Biopharma.

Dr. Wilson Lau
PhD Candidate (September 2006 to December 2011). Ontario Graduate Scholarship. Currently: post-doctoral fellow at Hong Kong University.

Dr. Michael Latham
Post-doctoral Fellow (July 2008 to November 2014) NSF and CIHR Fellowships. Currently Assistant Professor, Texas Tech University. michael.latham@ttu.edu

Nawaz Pirani
M.Sc. Candidate (September 2007 to October 2009). 

Daniel Schep
M.Sc. Candidate (January 2014 to January 2016). NSERC Scholarship, Medical Biophysics Excellence Award.

Dr. Martin Smith
Post-doctoral Fellow (January 2013 to December 2015) CIHR Fellowship. Currently: Ontario Brain Institute.

Jana Tuhman
M.Sc. Candidate (September 2009 to October 2011).

Dr. Jianhua Zhao
PhD Candidate (January 2011 to January 2016). NSERC Scholarship, Medical Biophysics Excellence Award. Currently: post-doctoral fellow, USCF.

Anna Zhou
M.Sc. Candidate (January 2014 to January 2016). CIHR Scholarship, Medical Biophysics Excellence Award.