Facebook Pixel Code
Website banner
Translational Medicine


University of Toronto Faculty Promotions  2008-2009
Congratulations to the following TM members:


  • Dr. Paul Pencharz has been elected as a Fellow of the American Society of Nutrition for 2008. The award was presented at the Experimental Biology Meetings in San Diego, California on April 7th, 2008. The award recognizes outstanding contributions to nutritional sciences over the course of one's career. Only those 65 years old or older can be selected and only three other Canadians have been made fellows. It is truly a great honour that Dr. Pencharz is part of the Translational Medicine program at The Hospital For Sick Children. Congratulations!
  • Dr. Andrew Redington, Head, Cardiology, Labatt Family Heart Centre, Senior Associate Scientist, Translational Medicine, Research Institute and Professor of Paediatrics at the University of Toronto was named the BMO Financial Group Chair in Cardiology on Monday March 17, 2008. The gift from BMO Financial Group will help support the research of current and future heads of the Division of Cardiology at SickKids.
  • In November 2007, the first Exceptional Trainee Awards were given out at the 20th Annual SickKids Scientific Retreat. Rahul Kushwah from the Translational Medicine program was nominated by his peers in recognition of his outstanding research in lung gene therapy.
  • On February 27, 2009,  Dr. Earl Silverman was appointed the Inaugural Chair holder of the Ho Family Chair in Autoimmune Diseases. This endowed chair enhances the recruitment, retention and support of outstanding individuals working to advance the strategic direction of the organization by enhancing knowledge in a particular discipline or field.
  • The recipient of the 2008 Exceptional Trainee Award in the Translational Medicine program was Kaede Ota.  She was selected to receive this award based on her achievements in research of paediatric respiratory infections.
  • The recipient of the 2009 Exceptional Trainee Award in the Translational Medicine program was David Douda. He was selected to receive this award based on his achievements in research on innate immune collectins.

New Funding

  • Dr. Padmaja Subbarao, Scientist, Translational Medicine, was granted funding from the Allergy, Genes and Enviroment Network (AllerGen) for her research proposal, Respiratory syncytial virus in the development of infant wheezing disorders: a bench to bedside approach to gene-virus interactions.
  • Dr. Chris Macgowan, Scientist, Translational Medicine Program, received an operating grant from the CIHR for his research project MRI assessment of pulmonary vascular remodelling and vasoconstriction in pulmonary hypertension.