Facebook Pixel Code
Section banner image
Paediatric Laboratory Medicine

Symposium 2012

Laurence E. Becker Symposium: Advances in Paediatric Laboratory Medicine
16th Annual DPLM Symposium and 10th Laurence Becker Symposium

Pharmacogenomics: Optimizing Patient Care Through Genome Analysis 

8:45 - 9:00 a.m.


Dr. Richard Hegele, Chief, Department of Paediatric Laboratory Medicine, The Hospital for Sick Children and Chair, Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology, University of Toronto

9:00 - 10:00 a.m.

Paediatric Grand Rounds
Introduction to Pharmacogenomics & Application to Clinical Medicine

Dr. Richard Weinshilboum, Professor of Molecular Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics and Internal Medicine and Mary Lou and John H. Dasburg Professor in Cancer Genomics Research, Rochester, Minnesota

10:00 - 10:20 a.m.

Coffee Break

10:20 - 11:00 a.m.

Genotype-Specific Approaches to Therapy in Childhood Cancer

Dr. Colin Ross, Assistant Professor, Department of Paediatrics, Centre for Molecular Medicine and Therapeutics, The University of British Columbia

11:00 - 11:40 a.m.

Prenatal and Perinatal Pharmacogenomics

Dr. Gideon Koren, Director, Motherisk Programs, Clinical Pharmacology and Toxicology; Senior Scientist, Child Health Evaluative Sciences, Research Institute, The Hospital for Sick Children; Professor, Paediatrics, University of Toronto

11:40 a.m. - 12:20 p.m.



Ethical Perspectives, Benefits and Drawbacks of Pharmacogenomic Testing

Dr. Parvaz Madadi, Research Fellow, Clinical Pharmacology and Toxicology, The Hospital for Sick Children

12:30 - 2:30 p.m.

Lunch and Posters

2:30 - 3:00 p.m.

Awards Presentation and Reception


Winners 2012 - Poster competition

1st Place – Leslie Steele
2nd Place – Bonnie Lee
3rd Place – Archana Bhatt

Clinical Resident or Fellow:
1st Place – Jie Pan
2nd Place – Anton Novak
3rd – Alaa Alkhotani

M.Sc. Student:
1st Place – Patricia Christian
2nd Place – Jennifer Sacco

M.Sc./Undergraduate Student:
1st Place – Crystal Gadishaw-Lue
2nd Place – Long Nguyen

PhD Student:
1st Place – Reza Mokhtari