Facebook Pixel Code
Psychiatry
Psychiatry

Education and learning

The Department of Psychiatry at SickKids is the largest training site for the Division of Child and Youth Mental Health, at the University of Toronto.  

The Department of Psychiatry at SickKids provides a vast array of educational opportunities for medical students, residents, fellows, psychology interns, social work students and students from other professional disciplines. The department also offers a number of elective opportunities for students interested in understanding child and youth mental health.  We offer strong educational experiences in diagnostic assessment and treatment planning, as well as psychotherapy and psychopharmacology.  We offer opportunities to work with a a variety of specialized health-care practitioners such as psychiatrists, psychologists, social workers, nurses and nurse practitioners, speech language pathologists and child and youth counsellors, across a variety of clinical programs and settings. We strive to ensure that our trainees of all disciplines receive the best possible educational experiences.

Contact Us:

Sandra Silva
Education Administrative Coordinator
Phone: 416-813-6510
Fax: 416-813-5326
Email: sandra.silva@sickkids.ca

Dr. Suneeta Monga
Director of Scholarship and Professional Development
Phone: 416-813-8954
Email: suneeta.monga@sickkids.ca

Dr. Irfan Mian
Postgraduate and Undergraduate Education Site Coordinator
Phone: 416-813-5760
Email: irfan.mian@sickkids.ca

Dr. Daphne Korczak
Director of Paediatric Resident and Subspecialty Training in Psychiatry
Phone: 416-813-7531
Fax: 416-813-5326
Email: daphne.korczak@sickkids.ca

Dr. Mark Hanson
Fellowship Director
Phone: 416-813-7533
Email: mark.hanson@sickkids.ca

Najwa Alshammasi
Advance Practice Nurse Educator
Phone: 416-813-4543
Email: najwa.alshammasi@sickkids.ca

For more information on psychology opportunities please contact Katie Sinopoli in the department of psychology:
Katia Sinopoli
Clinical Neuropsychologist
Department of Psychology, Division of Neurology
katia.sinopoli@sickkids.ca