Facebook Pixel Code
Developmental Paediatrics
Developmental Paediatrics

Who we are

Darcy Fehlings – Division Head

The academic division of Developmental Paediatrics is situated at Holland Bloorview Kids Rehabilitation Hospital. The division consists of full time academic clinicians as well as a community section of developmental paediatricians.  The main clinical focus of the division is on childhood neuro-developmental and neuro-rehabilitation disorders.   Children with complex developmental disorders have neurologically-based problems that impact in a multifaceted way on the development of the child. These children present with delays in their language, social, learning or motor development and have complex developmental needs. Diagnoses commonly include acquired brain injury, autism spectrum disorders, cerebral palsy, developmental disabilities, developmental impairment, neuromuscular disorders, and spina bifida. The Developmental Paediatrician works with the child and family as part of a multi-faceted team including Developmental Psychologists, therapists (physiotherapy, occupational therapy and speech and language), nurses and social workers. Comprehensive assessment and treatment programs are run for children and youth with conditions such as cerebral palsy, acquired brain injury, neuromuscular disorders and spina bifida.  Inpatient services are provided for children with medical conditions requiring complex continuing care and acquired brain injury.   Specialized assessment clinics provide diagnostic assessments for children and youth with autism spectrum disorders with clinics located at Holland Bloorview as well as regional developmental clinics situated throughout the metropolitan Toronto area.  The division runs a large psychopharmacology clinic providing consultation for children and youth with complex neuro-behavioural needs.

Education

Within the division, there is a strong commitment to education.  Under the leadership of Dr. Anne Kawamura as program director, the fully accredited subspecialty residency program in Developmental Paediatrics is the largest in Canada.  This program received full accreditation from the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada in 2007. In 2009, Developmental Paediatrics transitioned to a discipline with certification by examination. The objectives of the University of Toronto program are to provide trainees with expertise in diagnosing, managing and supporting children with a wide range of congenital or acquired disorders affecting development and behaviour and understanding their individual trajectories. Many of our graduates have taken up academic positions in Developmental Paediatrics, both nationally and internationally. Interested applicants should contact akawamura@hollandbloorview.ca for additional information on the training program.
There is also a commitment to training paediatric, physiatry, and neurology residents and medical students in applied childhood disability.  Holland Bloorview has recently created a Teaching and Learning Institute with a focus on interdisciplinary education and simulation.  

Research

The academic division members are involved in applied clinical research in Childhood Disability studies with much of this work centered at the Bloorview Research Institute under the leadership of Professor Tom Chau.  Division members lead and contribute actively to four main areas of focus:  autism spectrum disorders, cerebral palsy neuromuscular disorders and acquired brain injury.  


Brief History

The Division of Developmental Paediatrics was created within the Faculty of Medicine’s Department of Paediatrics effective March 1, 2005 in response to recent major advances in this important area of Paediatrics. Clinical services in Developmental Paediatrics at the Hospital for Sick Children and Holland Bloorview Kids Rehabilitation Hospital (formerly known as Bloorview Kids Rehab) merged in February 2005 with both clinical services and the academic division locating to Holland Bloorview.  The Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada recognized that Developmental Paediatrics represents a defined body of knowledge meriting recognition as a separate subspecialty area within Paediatrics in 2004. The training program at the University of Toronto was granted “fully accredited with certification” status by the College in 2005.

DIVISION OF DEVELOPMENTAL PAEDIATRICS

Darcy Fehlings, MD (Division Head)

dfehlings@hollandbloorview.ca

Evdokia Anagnostou, MD

eanagnostou@hollandbloorview.ca

Doug Biggar, MD

dbiggar@hollandbloorview.ca

Melissa Carter, MD

mcarter@hollandbloorview.ca

Paige Church, MD

pchurch@hollandbloorview.ca

Andrea Hoffman, MD

andrea.hoffman@hollandbloorview.ca

Joelene Huber, MD

huberjo@smh.ca

Ryan Hung, MD

rhung@hollandbloorview.ca

Elizabeth Jimenez, MD

ejimenez@hollandbloorview.ca

Anne Kawamura, MD

akawamura@hollandbloorview.ca

Alvin Loh, MD

alvin.loh@surreyplace.on.ca

Laura McAdam, MD

lmcadam@hollandbloorview.ca

Golda Milo-Manson, MD

gmilomanson@hollandbloorview.ca

Angela Orsino, MD

aorsino@hollandbloorview.ca

Michelle Porepa, MD

mporepa@hollandbloorview.ca

Jay Rosenfield, MD

jay.rosenfield@utoronto.ca

Peter Rumney, MD

prumney@hollandbloorview.ca

Sharon Smile, MD

ssmile@hollandbloorview.ca

COMMUNITY DIVISION DEVELOPMENTAL PAEDIATRICS

Cynthia Goldfarb, MD (Head, Community Section)

cgoldfarb@hollandbloorview.ca

Janine Flanagan, MD

flanaj@stjoe.on.ca

Dana Frisch, MD

dfrisch@hollandbloorview.ca

Mark Handley-Derry, MD

mark.handley.derry@utoronto.ca

Carolyn Hunt, MD

carolyn.hunt@grtc.ca

Anita Jethwa, MD

ajethwa@msh.on.ca

Nicky Jones-Stokreef, MD

njonesstokreef@osmh.on.ca

Peggy Kirkpatrick, MD

kirkpat@allstream.net

Zina Levichek, MD

zinalevichek@hotmail.com

Anne Richards, MD

angelavdw@rogers.com

Lillian Rojnica, MD

lrojnica@erinoakkids.ca

David Shawn, MD

drdavidshawn@gmail.com

Clive Schwartz, MD

drcjs@mac.com

Elizabeth Young, MD

younge@smh.ca